Review: “The Book Thief” by Markus Zusak

 

book thief

Photo by Goodreads

“I wanted to tell the book thief many things, about beauty and brutality. But what could I tell her about those things that she didn’t already know? I wanted to explain that I am constantly overestimating and underestimating the human race-that rarely do I ever simply estimate it. I wanted to ask her how the same thing could be so ugly and so glorious, and its words and stories so damning and brilliant.” 

A novel narrated by Death.

What more could convince one to read the breathtakingly treacherous story of Liesel Meminger?

Markus Zusak’s The Book Thief is a wondrous journey through Nazi Germany, telling the tale of Liesel, her Himmel Street companions, and the struggle of living in fear. The story provides a fresh, yet still unbearable emotional, angle on the Holocaust.

Leisel, an orphan and a lover of books, is the titular character – the famous Book Thief. Not only does she learn to read but she learns what it’s like to be a kid and grow up to fast, to love and be loved, and most importantly, she teaches friendship to the most unlikely of people.

One of the most spectacular things about the book is the narration. Not only is the narrator fascinating, but the way the words fall onto the page, the ease in which they bring the story to life, truly tells a tale that needs to be read.

Brilliant. Raw. Unforgettable.

“I have hated words and I have loved them, and I hope I have made them right.” 

About heatherrochon

I am a recent grad of creative writing and journalism. Right now, I'm working on book reviews and getting through life. Books, cats, and a nice cup of tea can get me through any day.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

